ICL T20: Redbacks sting Knights

Cricket League T20: Australian Side beat SRK’s Team By 19 Runs


South Australia fabricates a dominated bowling performance to thrash Kolkata Knight Riders by 19 runs in their CLT20 match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on Tuesday.

With both teams in a similar predicament of needing a win under there belt, aggression was the key. Michel Klinger won the toss and chose to set a target for the rivals. For the first 14 over’s, it looked Redbacks wont be able to reach their goal of total which could put Knight Riders under pressure. They managed 94 runs but the equation changed in the final six overs as Redbacks plundered 94 off them to reach 188 for five on a slow pitch.

Callum Ferguson’s transformation, from a batsman who was struggling to find gaps in the field to a big-hitting finisher, helped South Australia earn their first points of the ICL T20 tournament and heal their damaged net run-rate to a certain extent.

Chasing a score of 189 runs, Knight Riders lost the plot from the very beginning, losing all their prominent batsmen to the energetic bowlers of South Australia.

After the early wickets of Manvinder Bisla and Shakib Al Hasan, Jacques Kallis and Gambhir too departed without contributing much to the Knight Rider’s score.

Late cameos from Ryan ten Doeschate and Rajat Bhatia have ensured that KKR do not suffer a heavy loss. Now KKR have a mountain to climb if they have to stay alive in the competition.

Redbacks bowling was disciplined as they kept a tight check on the KKR batsmen.




Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (Capt.), Manvinder Bisla, Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Rajat Bhatia, Iqbal Abdulla, Brett Lee, Lakshmipathy Balaji.

South Australian Redbacks: Michael Klinger (Capt.), Daniel Harris, Tom Cooper, Callum Ferguson, Cameron Borgas, Daniel Christian, Tim Ludeman, Aaron O’Brien, Nathon Lyon, Kane Richardson, Gary Putland.




My Zimbio