Champions League T20 2012

Champions League T20 2012 | CLT20 2012

Champions League T20 2012 (CLT20) will be the fourth edition of the Champions League Twenty20, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament. It will be held in South Africa from 9 to 28 October 2012. This edition is significant for being the first to feature a Pakistani team. This was the first season to have Karbonn Mobiles as the title sponsor. They replaced Nokia, who withdrew from their four-year deal after just one year.

It is all systems go for the start of the fourth edition of the Karbonn Smart Champions League Twenty20 which gets under way with the Qualifier in less than a week’s time.

Champions League T20 2012 Highlights

“The Karbonn Smart Champions League Twenty20 is a unique competition that showcases the domestic champions from around the world. We will be privileged to see superstars from all corners of the globe such as Sachin Tendulkar (India), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Shane Watson (Australia), who has been the standout performer at the current ICC World Twenty20, Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Kieron Pollard (West Indies), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) and Kevin Pietersen (England),” said Cricket SA Acting CEO, Jacques Faul.

The tournament will feature a qualifying stage, introduced in the 2011 edition. As with all previous editions, the tournament format was changed: only two teams qualify from the qualifying stage to the group stage.

Six teams participate in the qualifying stage, from which two teams advance to the group stage to join eight direct entrants. The top four teams from the group stage advance to the knockout stage. The qualifying and group stages have the teams divided into two equal groups, with each playing a round-robin tournament, and the top two teams of each group advance to the next stage. The knockout stage consists of two semi-finals, with the top team of one group facing the second from the other. The winners of the semi-finals play the grand final to determine the winners of the competition.

This tournament will feature a team from Pakistan for the first time. Pakistan’s participation had not been considered for past editions of the tournament due to the hostility between India and Pakistan since the 2008 Mumbai attacks. The attacks were also responsible for the cancellation of the planned first edition of the tournament in 2008, for which a Pakistan team had qualified. Representation from Australia changes to teams from the Big Bash League, which replaced their previous premier Twenty20 tournament and features new city-based teams instead of the previous first-class teams. Similarly, representation from Sri Lanka changes to teams from the Sri Lanka Premier League, which features franchise teams. While the 2011 edition had the fourth-placed Indian team play the qualifying stage, this year’s team, the Mumbai Indians, directly qualified for the main tournament on account of being the defending champions.

For more information:

My Zimbio